top of page

DUST MOUNTAIN announce new album 'Hymns For Wilderness' + share lead single

The ensemble follow up on their acclaimed live debut with a complete full-length.

dust mountain tekla valy
Photograph by Tekla Valy

Though the pandemic and the associated health guidelines held the Roadburn Festival from happening this year, organizers got creative and presented Roadburn Redux, a virtual platform of in-depth discussions, commissioned sets, livestreams, and more. If Roadburn is known for one thing, it's their massive artist catalog and this year's edition showcased DUST MOUNTAIN for their international live debut. DUST MOUNTAIN, which formed in 2016, consists of a talented quintet that includes the likes of siblings Toni Hietamäki (Oranssi Pazuzu, Waste of Space Orchestra) and Henna Hietamäki (Cats of Transnistria, Henna & Houreet), Jukka Rämänen (Hexvessel, Dark Buddha Rising), Riku Pirttiniemi (Death Hawks), and Pauliina Lindell (Vuono). On October 8th, the band will issue their first full-length recording, Hymns For Wilderness, via Svart Records.

Tracks from Hymns For Wilderness first captivated audiences with folk-laden harmonies and psychedelic atmospheres that harken back to key 1960's and 1970's acts, like Fairport Convention, Pentangle, Coven, and more. Mandolin riff driven lead single Village On Fire sets the stage for the soaring nature of DUST MOUNTAIN's forthcoming hymns, harnessing heavy from doom and pagan tales for a conscious approach to lyricism.

Stream Village On Fire below and pre-order your copy of the record HERE.

tekla valy dust mountain
Cover photograph by Tekla Valy


bottom of page