top of page

OLD MAN GLOOM surprise release 'Seminar IX: Darkness Of Being' days after announcing 'Seminar VIII'

An unconventional yet refreshing collision of sounds.

*UPDATED* - March 23, 2020.


With honesty and passion comes brilliance, especially when looking at it in terms of musical output, of which the experimental OLD MAN GLOOM excel in. Consisting of Aaron Turner (SUMAC, ISIS), Nate Newton (CONVERGE), Santos Montano (ZOZORBRA), and the newly added Stephen Brodsky (CAVE IN), OLD MAN GLOOM serves as a creative powerhouse of sludge metal that abides by no boundaries. Following the band's recently announced record Seminar VIII: Light Of Meaning, they woke and surprised us all with the full album release of Seminar IX: Darkness of Being. Not a bad way to kick off the week.

Serving as a tribute to the magnificent Caleb Scofield (OLD MAN GLOOM, CAVE IN), the efforts incorporate material that Scofield penned prior to his passing. Seminar IX is now streaming in full and Seminar VIII arrives on May 22nd via Profound Lore Records with band having shared the lead single (and opening track) EMF to whet the appetite for towering riffs.

Stream Seminar IX and lead single EMF from Seminar VIII below. Pre-order your copy of these gem HERE via Profound Lore.

Cover art by Aaron Turner
Cover art by Aaron Turner


bottom of page