top of page

Othismos destroy all with sophomore album 'Separazione'

The Italian crust/punk quartet deliver.

This past weekend, Italian crust/punk hybrid Othismos released their blistering sophomore record Separazione and have left listeners across the country with a clusterfuck of emotions. Separazione is pure aggression from start to finish and demands multiple listens to fully indulge in the layered musical influences present throughout the magnificent eight track album.

Othismos evolved from a punk-hardcore band to a hardcore/crust/punk/metal hybrid following the release of their debut album L'Odio Necessario (2015), making it hard for anyone to cage them into a particular genre. But why would you? Othismos trailblaze through any of these boundaries and unleash a soul crushing composition of tracks their own way with Separazione. The record just hits you in the face with rushing speed and carries emotional distress throughout, making it clear that Othismos is pissed off.

The band had the following to say on the release:

'Separazione' is exactly the record we wanted to make at this point in our journey: straight forward, fast and aggressive. We worked hard in the rehearsal room and in the studio and we achieved our goal, that is to create a dark, oppressive album; something able to surprise the listener right away. We don't like talking about genres, we kinda live in seclusion when it comes to composing and we have never been interested in being easily catalogable. Our music should always convey feelings such as anger, hate, despair and emptiness, and that is enough for us. We see 'Separazione' as our own soundtrack to the downfall of human civilization".

Separazione was recorded and mixed by Emanuele “Bio” Ferrari & Othismos at B-Side Studio Recordings in Chianciano (Italy) and mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Studios in Portland, OR.

Othismos consists of bassist/vocalist Filippo “Caino” Masina, guitarist Luca Migliorucci, guitarist Tommaso Dringoli, and drummer Shmulik Froilich.


01. Canto dell’ Estinzione 02. Black Star 03. Hymn of Victory 04. Madre 05. The Fangless Beast 06. 100 Years Demise 07. The Plague 08. Tale of a Righteous Man

While there are no physical copies available, you can stream/purchase your digital copy of the nerve-wracking Separazione via Bandcamp.

othismos, separazione, savageartworks, grind, punk, noise
Cover art by Sara Sostini – Savageartworks


bottom of page