top of page

WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA to release new album 'Syntheosis,' pre-orders and tracklisting available

The musical union between Oranssi Pazuzu and Dark Buddha Rising.

Photograph by M. Lahtinen

The annual Roadburn Festival has received worldwide acclamation for their evolution through the years and their ability to put together some of the most diverse and dynamic lineups to date. Last year, the festival commissioned a particularly interesting super group of sorts, one containing cosmic black metal alchemists ORANSSI PAZUZU and DARK BUDDHA RISING. The two united under the WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA moniker and delivered a grandiose, god-like experience to those lucky enough to be present. Consisting of a 10-piece army of guitars, drums, basses, keyboards, and ethereal vocals, the performance known as Syntheosis became an exclusive hit for the festival.

Fans across the world will now have the opportunity to experience WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA's Syntheosis on April 5, 2019 as a studio release recorded over the spring and summer of 2018. Svart Records will handle the effort.

Syntheosis was recorded and mixed by Julius Mauranen, who also worked on ORANSSI PAZUZU’s Värähtelijä. If you've scoured the internet for videos of the performance, then you'd agree that the compositions are engaging, psychedelic, and otherworldly to say the least. The one-hour performance is broken down into nine parts, recounting the story of three beings and their deep search for knowledge:

The Shaman (Vesa Ajomo) is seeing oppressing visions from the bleak future of mankind. The Seeker (Juho Vanhanen) is searching for the truth from unknown dimensions with secret methods. The Possessor (Marko Neuman) corrupts the other individuals, manipulating them into his own sinister plan.

A ceremony ends up in the opening of a portal, which sucks the three beings into an alien dimension, which is populated by brain-mutilating colour storms and ego-diminishing audio violence. Eventually the three are forced to reach equilibrium and melt their minds into one collective consciousness.

Syntheosis Track Listing: 1. Void Monolith 2. The Shamanic Vision 3. Seeker’s Reflection 4. Journey To The Center Of Mass 5. Wake Up The Possessor 6. Infinite Gate Opening 7. Vacuum Head 8. The Universal Eye 9. Syntheosis

WASTE OF SPACE ORCHESTRA: Vesa Ajomo – voice of the shaman, guitar Toni Hietamäki – bass guitar Niko Lehdontie – guitar, effects Ville Leppilahti – keyboards, effects Marko Neuman – voice of the possessor Jukka Rämänen – drums Petri Rämänen – deep bass guitar Jussi Saarivuori – electronics Jarkko Salo – drums Juho Vanhanen – voice of the seeker, guitar

View the psychedelic album trailer below and be sure to preorder your copy of the record via Svart Records.


bottom of page